School Logo

Trefonen CE Primary School

Learning in love, growing in faith.

Get in touch

National curriculum

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as religious education and sex education.


The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Child’s ageYearKey stageAssessment
4 to 5ReceptionEarly yearsBaseline assessment at the beginning of the year and end of year assessment against the end of Foundation Stage objectives
5 to 6Year 1KS1Phonics screening check
6 to 7Year 2KS1National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science
7 to 8Year 3KS2 
8 to 9Year 4KS2Multiplication Tables Check
9 to 10Year 5KS2 
10 to 11Year 6KS2National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science

Tests and assessments


Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child does not do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.


Key stage 1

Key stage 1 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths

Your child will take the tests in May. You can ask the school for the test results.

You’ll be sent the results of your child’s teacher assessments automatically.


Key stage 2

Your child will take national tests in May when they reach the end of key stage 2. These test your child’s skills in:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths

The tests last less than 4 hours. You’ll get the results in July.

The school will send you the results of your child’s tests and teacher assessments.

Key stage 1 and 2

Compulsory national curriculum subjects at primary school are:


  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • computing
  • modern foreign language (at key stage 2)
  • personal, social and health education (PSHE), including Relationships and Sex Education (RSE)

Schools must provide religious education (RE) but parents can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole lesson or part of it.