School Logo

Trefonen CE Primary School

Learning in love, growing in faith.

Get in touch

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the period of time from birth to 5 years.  At Trefonen C.E. Primary School our curriculum is designed to recognise children's prior learning, both from previous settings and their experiences at home.  We work in partnership with parents, carers and other settings to provide the best possible start to their school life, ensuring each individual reaches their full potential from their own starting points.

It is our Intent  that children who enter our reception class begin their journey by developing physically, verbally, cognitively and emotionally.  We create a learning environment which supports and enhances a child's curiosity and confidence in order for them to feel happy and secure enough to explore, learn and make decisions.


All reception children have opportunities to learn in both our indoor and outdoor areas.  They engage in planned, focused activities as well as self-initiated activities.


The learning experiences in our reception class are based upon the seven areas of learning and development within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).  There are three prime areas and four specific areas of learning.

The three prime areas of learning are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language 
  • Physical development


The four specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design